Committee on Education

The membership of the Committee on Education consists of the Chair, Past-Chair and Chair-Elect from the Forum on Education and nine (9) persons selected by the Committee on Committees and appointed by the President-Elect to staggered three-year terms. The President-Elect appoints the Chair from among the members. The Committee is responsible for activities in the area of physics education designated to it by the Council. It reports periodically to the President and the Council on physics education. It may suggest and supervise studies and programs to improve the cooperation between the educational community and other parts of the physics community.

Chair: Joshua Grossman (01/21 - 12/21)
St. Mary's College of Maryland

Member: Marty Baylor (01/21 - 12/21)
Carleton College

Member: Kathryn Svinarich (01/19 - 12/21)
Kettering University

Member: Rajeswari Kolagani (01/20 - 12/22)
Towson University

Member: James White (01/20 - 12/22)
Juniata College

Member: Stefan Zollner (01/20 - 12/22)
New Mexico State University

Member: Maajida Murdock (01/21 - 12/23)
Morgan State University

Member: Daniel Harris (01/21 - 12/23)
Brown University

Member: Anderson Sunda-Meya (01/21 - 12/23)
Xavier University of Louisiana

Chair-Elect, Forum on Education: Eric Brewe (01/21 - 12/21)
Drexel University

Chair, Forum on Education: Catherine Crouch (01/21 - 12/21)
Swarthmore College

Past Chair, Forum on Education: Gerald Feldman (01/21 - 12/21)
George Washington University

COE Committee photo 2019
2019 Committee Members

Committee Documents

Senior Staff
Monica Plisch

Staff Advisor
Michael Wittmann

Committee Administrator
Della Richardson

Annual Reports Format - PDF
202020192018, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008, 2007, 2006, 2005, 2004, 2003, 2002, 2001, 2000, 1999, 1998

APS Involvement in Education Booklet

Past Chairs
1992 - 2020

Nominees for and holders of APS Honors (prizes, awards, and fellowship) and official leadership positions are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.

APS Committees

The American Physical Society is a volunteer-driven organization. Since 1899, physicists have contributed their time and resources to running the APS in cooperation with a minimal full-time staff. Volunteers are the backbone of the Society. They form the character and direct the Society's progress and development. All APS committees operate on a calendar year basis and committee terms run from January 1 through December 31.

View Full Committee Listing

Information for Committee Members