Committee on Scientific Meetings

The membership of the Committee on Scientific Meetings consists of the CEO or designate, the members of the Executive Office responsible for publishing and financial matters, and nine (9) persons selected by the Committee on Committees and appointed by the President-Elect to staggered three-year terms. The President-Elect appoints the Chair from among these six members. The Committee on Scientific Meetings proposes and the Council adopts guidelines and rules for the organization and operation of all Scientific Meetings of the Society and its units, and provides oversight for the meetings-related publications, including the Bulletin of the American Physical Society. The participation of Divisions, Topical Groups, Forums and Sections in Meetings is governed by these rules. The Committee recommends procedures for Society sponsorship of other meetings.

Chair: Nadya Mason (01/22 - 12/23)
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Member: Ethan Welch (01/21 - 12/23)
University of Nebraska - Lincoln

Member: Valentino Cooper (01/21 - 12/23)
Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Member: Or Hen (01/22 - 12/24)
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Member: Christina Pospisil (01/22 - 12/24)

Member: Haifeng Wang (01/22 - 12/24)
Purdue University

Member: Raju Venugopalan (01/23 - 12/25)
Brookhaven National Laboratory (BNL)

Member: Emily Belli (01/23 - 12/25)
General Atomics

Member: Michael Brown (01/23 - 12/25)
Swarthmore College

Senior Staff
Hunter Clemens

Annual Reports
2006, 2003, 2002, 1999, 1998

Nominees for and holders of APS Honors (prizes, awards, and fellowship) and official leadership positions are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.

APS Committees

The American Physical Society is a volunteer-driven organization. Since 1899, physicists have contributed their time and resources to running the APS in cooperation with a minimal full-time staff. Volunteers are the backbone of the Society. They form the character and direct the Society's progress and development. All APS committees operate on a calendar year basis and committee terms run from January 1 through December 31.

View Full Committee Listing

Information for Committee Members

Help us make better by telling us what's important to you. Take a short survey.