Panel on Public Affairs

The Panel on Public Affairs (POPA) consists of a Chair, Chair-Elect, Vice Chair, immediate Past Chair, the Vice President, the Chair of the Physics Policy Committee (PPC), the Congressional Fellow(s) in the second year following the year of service, thirteen (13) members elected by Council to staggered three (3) year terms, (1) industrial physicist APS-member elected by the Forum on Industrial and Applied Physics to a three (3) year term, and (1) member elected by the Forum on Physics and Society to a three (3) year term. The candidates for election as members of POPA are selected by the Nominating Committee. The Vice Chair is elected by Council and serves in that office for one (1) year, then as Chair-Elect for one (1) year, then as Chair for one (1) year, and then as Immediate Past Chair for one (1) year. The POPA Steering Committee consists of the Chair, the Chair-Elect, the Vice Chair, the Vice President, the PPC Chair, and at least two (2) additional members selected from among and by the members of POPA.

POPA is responsible for making recommendations to the President, the Board, and the Council on public affairs activities of the Society that have been designated by the Board or Council. POPA may initiate new public affairs activities for the Society and may recommend new programs to the Council. POPA shall keep minutes and distribute them to POPA members and to the Council and Board. All POPA reports and APS studies shall be approved by the Council before public release.

Chair: E. Dan Dahlberg (01/20 - 12/20)
University of Minnesota

Chair-Elect: William Collins (01/20 - 12/20)
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Vice Chair: C McCurdy (01/20 - 12/20)
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Past Chair: James Wells (01/20 - 12/20)
University of Michigan

Vice President: Frances Hellman (01/20 - 12/20)
University of California, Berkeley

Member: Carlos Gutierrez (01/18 - 12/20)
Sandia National Laboratories

Member: David Ernst (01/18 - 12/20)

Member: Mary Hockaday (01/18 - 12/20)
Los Alamos Natl Lab

Member: Susan Blessing (01/18 - 12/20)
Florida State University

Member: Raymond Orbach (01/19 - 12/21)
University of Texas at Austin

Member: Cynthia Nitta (01/19 - 12/21)
Lawrence Livermore Natl Lab

Member: Thom Mason (01/19 - 12/21)
Los Alamos Natl Lab

Member: Barry Klein (01/19 - 12/21)
University of California, Davis

Member: Steve Fetter (01/20 - 12/22)
University of Maryland, College Park

Member: Jonathan Wurtele (01/20 - 12/22)
University of California, Berkeley

Member: Dan Stamper-Kurn (01/20 - 12/22)
University of California, Berkeley

Member: Norbert Holtkamp (01/20 - 12/22)
Stanford Univ

Member: Eric Gawiser (01/20 - 12/22)
Rutgers University, New Brunswick

Chair, Physics Policy Committee: David Gross (01/20 - 12/20)
University of California, Santa Barbara

Representative, Forum on Industrial and Applied Physics: James Adams (01/18 - 12/20)
National Institute of Standards and Technology

Representative, Forum on Physics and Society: Laura Grego (01/19 - 12/21)
Union of Concerned Scientists

Congressional Fellow: Lauren Aycock (01/20 - 12/20)

Advisor: Philip Bucksbaum (01/19 - 12/20)
Stanford Univ

Advisor: Sylvester Gates (01/20 - 12/21)
Brown University

Nominees and award and office holders are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.

APS Committees

The American Physical Society is a volunteer-driven organization. Since 1899, physicists have contributed their time and resources to running the APS in cooperation with a minimal full-time staff. Volunteers are the backbone of the Society. They form the character and direct the Society's progress and development. All APS committees operate on a calendar year basis and committee terms run from January 1 through December 31.

View Full Committee Listing

Information for Committee Members