APS Prizes & Awards


Abraham Pais Prize for History of Physics
Andrei Sakharov Prize
Aneesur Rahman Prize for Computational Physics
APS Medal for Exceptional Achievement in Research
Arthur L. Schawlow Prize in Laser Science
Dannie Heineman Prize for Mathematical Physics
Davisson-Germer Prize in Atomic or Surface Physics
Earle K. Plyler Prize for Molecular Spectroscopy & Dynamics
Einstein Prize
Fluid Dynamics Prize
Frank Isakson Prize for Optical Effects in Solids
George E. Pake Prize
George E. Valley, Jr. Prize
Hans A. Bethe Prize
Herman Feshbach Prize in Theoretical Nuclear Physics
I.I. Rabi Prize in Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics
J. J. Sakurai Prize for Theoretical Particle Physics
James C. McGroddy Prize for New Materials
James Clerk Maxwell Prize for Plasma Physics
Julius Edgar Lilienfeld Prize
Lars Onsager Prize
Leo P. Kadanoff Prize
Max Delbruck Prize in Biological Physics
Mildred Dresselhaus Prize in Nanoscience or Nanomaterials
Norman F. Ramsey Prize in Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics, and in Precision Tests of Fundamental Laws and Symmetries
Oliver E. Buckley Condensed Matter Physics Prize
Polymer Physics Prize
Prize for a Faculty Member for Research in an Undergraduate Institution
Prize for Industrial Applications of Physics
Robert R. Wilson Prize for Achievement in the Physics of Particle Accelerators
Tom W. Bonner Prize in Nuclear Physics
W.K.H. Panofsky Prize in Experimental Particle Physics
Will Allis Prize for the Study of Ionized Gases

Dissertation Awards

The membership of APS is diverse and global, and the nominees and recipients of APS Honors should reflect that diversity so that all are recognized for their impact on our community. Nominations of members belonging to groups traditionally underrepresented in physics, such as women, LGBT+ scientists, scientists who are Black, Indigenous, and people of color (BIPOC), disabled scientists, scientists from institutions with limited resources, and scientists from outside the United States, are especially encouraged.

Nominees for and holders of APS Honors (prizes, awards, and fellowship) and official leadership positions are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.