Andreas Acrivos Dissertation Award in Fluid Dynamics

This award recognizes exceptional young scientists who have performed original doctoral thesis work of outstanding scientific quality and achievement in the area of fluid dynamics. The annual award consists of $1,000, a certificate, travel reimbursement, a registration waiver to attend the annual meeting of the Division of Fluid Dynamics to give an invited talk and accept the award.

Establishment & Support

The award was established in 1998 to honor the many outstanding contributions to fluid mechanics of Dr. Andreas Acrivos, particularly his years of distinguished editorship of Physics of Fluids. It is supported by donations from members and friends of the Division of Fluid Dynamics.

Rules & Eligibility

Nominations will be accepted for any doctoral student studying at a college or university in the United States or in a education abroad program of a college or university in the United States. The work to be considered must have been accomplished as part of the requirements for a doctoral degree. Nominees must have completed their dissertations during the previous calendar year, or by March 31 of the year of the award, at a university within the United States. A dissertation is "complete" when formally submitted to the nominee's graduate school.

Each nominee can be considered no more than two consecutive years. A new nomination package must be resubmitted online to be considered for a second year; candidates are not automatically carried over to the next year for a second and final review. The nomination letter should clearly state that the candidate was nominated the previous year.

Nomination & Selection Process

Deadline: Friday, May 15, 2020

The nomination package should include:

  1. APS Prizes and Awards nomination form (nominee’s contact information, thesis date).

  2. Full copy of the nominee’s Ph.D. thesis.

  3. A thesis summary of maximum five pages (including figures) prepared by the nominee.

  4. A complete curriculum vitae of the nominee.

  5. A scanned signed nomination letter from the thesis advisor. This letter should describe (a) the specific research contributions of the nominee, and (b) the role of the nominee in writing any parts of the thesis that have been published or submitted for publication (please identify these parts of the thesis).

  6. At least two letters, but not more than three, seconding the nomination. At least one letter must be from a person who is not from the nominee's PhD granting institution.

  7. Demographics form (if known/wish to specify age, gender, race, and ethnicity of the nominee).

To submit a nomination, please see the Prize & Award Nomination Guidelines.


2020 Selection Committee Members: Daniel Bodony (Chair), Tim Colonius (Vice Chair), Irmgard Bischofberger, Eric Lauga, Duan Z. Zhang, Christine Gilbert, and Karen Mulleners

Serving a diverse and inclusive community of physicists worldwide is a primary goal for APS. Nominations of qualified women, members of underrepresented minority groups, and scientists from outside the United States are especially encouraged.

Nominees and award and office holders are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.