Stanley Corrsin Award

To recognize and encourage a particularly influential contribution to fundamental fluid dynamics.

The Prize consists of $5,000, an allowance for registration and travel to the meeting at which the Prize is awarded, and a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient. The award will be presented annually at the Division of Fluid Dynamics annual meeting and will be accompanied by a Distinguished Lecture from the Award winner.

Establishment & Support

The Prize was established from an endowment fund contributed by the DFD and held by the APS.

Rules & Eligibility

This Prize is intended to honor a recent achievement of especially high impact and significance, a particular discovery, or an innovation in the field. The prize shall ordinarily be awarded to one person but may be shared when all the recipients have contributed to the same achievement. Nominations are active for three years.

Nomination & Selection Process

Deadline: Friday, May 15, 2020

The nomination must include:

  • A letter of not more than 5,000 characters evaluating the qualifications of the nominee(s)

In addition, the nomination should include:

  • A biographical sketch
  • A list of the most important publications
  • At least two, but not more than four, seconding letters
  • Up to five reprints or preprints

To start a new or update a continuing nomination, please see the Prize & Award Nomination Guidelines.

2020 Selection Committee Members: Roberto Verzicco (Chair), Richard Lueptow (Vice Chair), Paul Durbin, Kausik Sarkar, Jeff Morris (2019 Award Winner), Lisa Fauci, Hyung Jin Sung, and Laurette Tuckerman.

Serving a diverse and inclusive community of physicists worldwide is a primary goal for APS. Nominations of qualified women, members of underrepresented minority groups, and scientists from outside the United States are especially encouraged.

Nominees and award and office holders are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.

2020 Recipient

Emmanuel Villermaux
Aix-Marseille University

Emmanuel Villermaux

Past Recipients

2019: Jeffrey Morris
2018: Anette Hosoi
2017: Jens Eggers
2016: Ivan Marusic
2015: Michael D. Graham
2014: Eberhard Bodenschatz
2013: Michael P. Brenner
2012: Daniel Lathrop
2011: Charles Meneveau