John H. Dillon Medal

To recognize outstanding research accomplishments by early-career polymer physicists who have demonstrated exceptional research promise. Recognition consists of $2,000, up to $1,000 allowance for travel to the meeting of the Society at which the award is being presented, a bronze medallion, and a certificate citing the accomplishments of the recipient. It will be presented annually.

Establishment & Support

The medal was established in 1983 by The American Physical Society and the Division of Polymer Physics (DPOLY). Beginning in 1997, sponsorship of the medal was assumed by Elsevier, Oxford, UK., publishers of the journal, Polymer.

Rules & Eligibility

The medal will be awarded to one person for outstanding accomplishment and unusual promise in research in polymer physics. Nominees who received their terminal degree (e.g. Ph.D.) less than 12 y before the nomination deadline are eligible. In the case of research career breaks due to military service, illness, caring for a child, dependent, or family member, eligibility will be extended by one year extension per life event with a maximum of two (2) events. In such cases, the nominator should send a separate one-sentence letter to the DPOLY Chair requesting an eligibility extension due to a research career break without specific details (do not include this information in the nomination letter). Nominations will be considered for three review cycles provided the nominator re-certifies the nomination before the next deadline.

Nomination & Selection Process

Deadline: Thursday, June 1, 2023

The nomination package must include:

  • A letter of not more than 5,000 characters evaluating the qualifications of the nominee(s).

In addition, the nomination should include:

  • A biographical sketch.
  • A list of the most important publications.
  • At least two, but not more than four, seconding letters.
  • Up to five reprints or preprints.

There may be additional requirements for particular prizes and awards. Please read the rules carefully.

To start a new or update a continuing nomination, please see the Prize & Award Nomination Guidelines.

DPOLY executive committee will solicit and review the application packages for the John H. Dillon medal and recommend a candidate to the APS.

2024 Selection Committee Members: Rachel Segalman (Chair), Moon Park, Vivek Prabhu, Venkatraghavan Ganesan, LaShanda Korley

The membership of APS is diverse and global, and the nominees and recipients of APS Honors should reflect that diversity so that all are recognized for their impact on our community. Nominations of members belonging to groups traditionally underrepresented in physics, such as women, LGBT+ scientists, scientists who are Black, Indigenous, and people of color (BIPOC), disabled scientists, scientists from institutions with limited resources, and scientists from outside the United States, are especially encouraged.

Nominees for and holders of APS Honors (prizes, awards, and fellowship) and official leadership positions are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.