Fluid Dynamics Prize

To recognize and encourage outstanding achievement in fluid dynamics research. The prize consists of $10,000, an allowance for registration and travel to the meeting at which the prize is awarded, and a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient. It will be presented annually.

Establishment & Support

This prize was established in 1979 with support from the Office of Naval Research. In 2004, the Otto Laporte Award was combined with the Fluid Dynamics Prize so that the Division of Fluid Dynamics would have a single major prize - the Fluid Dynamics Prize. The prize is now supported by the Division of Fluid Dynamics, friends of Otto Laporte and the APS journal, Physical Review Fluids.

Rules & Eligibility

This prize is awarded for outstanding contributions to fundamental fluid dynamics research. The prize shall ordinarily be awarded to one person but may be shared when all the recipients have contributed to the same achievement. The award of the prize to a previous recipient of the Fluid Dynamics Prize or of the Otto Laporte Award must be justified by outstanding contributions that are different from those for which the previous award was given. This prize is awarded solely for valuable contributions made in the field of Fluid Dynamics with no restrictions placed on a candidate's citizenship or country of residence. Nominations will be considered for three review cycles provided the nominator re-certifies the nomination before the next deadline.

Nomination & Selection Process

Deadline: Wednesday, May 1, 2024

The nomination package must include:

  • A letter of not more than 5,000 characters evaluating the nominees qualifications.

In addition, the nomination should include:

  • A biographical sketch.
  • A list of the most important publications.
  • At least two, but not more than four, seconding letters.
  • Up to five reprints or preprints.

To start a new or update a continuing nomination, please see the Prize & Award Nomination Guidelines.


2023 Selection Committee Members: Claudia Cenedese (Chair), Michael Graham (Vice Chair), Elisabeth Charlaix ('22 Recipient), Christine Hrenya, Bud Homsy, Isabelle Cantat, Keith Julien, Luca Biferale, Sutanu Sarkar

The membership of APS is diverse and global, and the nominees and recipients of APS Honors should reflect that diversity so that all are recognized for their impact on our community. Nominations of members belonging to groups traditionally underrepresented in physics, such as women, LGBT+ scientists, scientists who are Black, Indigenous, and people of color (BIPOC), disabled scientists, scientists from institutions with limited resources, and scientists from outside the United States, are especially encouraged.

Nominees for and holders of APS Honors (prizes, awards, and fellowship) and official leadership positions are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.