Joseph F. Keithley Award For Advances in Measurement Science

To recognize physicists who have been instrumental in the development of measurement techniques or equipment that have impact on the physics community by providing better measurements. The prize consists of $5,000 and a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient. It is presented annually.

Establishment & Support

This award is endowed by Keithley Instruments, Inc. and the Topical Group on Instrument and Measurement Science (GIMS). The award honors Joseph F. Keithley for his outstanding contributions and numerous accomplishments in area of sensitive and precision instrument development and measurement techniques.

Rules & Eligibility

This Award will be made annually to one or a few individuals working in the same area for outstanding advances in measurement science or products that impact the physics community by providing better measurements. Nominations will be considered for three review cycles provided the nominator re-certifies the nomination before the next deadline.

Nomination & Selection Process

Deadline: Monday, June 3, 2024

Neither the nominee or nominator need to be an APS member or member of GIMS.

The nomination must include:

  • A letter of not more than 5,000 characters evaluating the qualifications of the nominee(s).

In addition, the nomination should include:

  • A biographical sketch.
  • A list of the most important publications.
  • At least two, but not more than four, seconding letters.
  • Up to five reprints or preprints.

To start a new or update a continuing nomination, please see the Prize & Award Nomination Guidelines.

2024 Selection Committee Members: Daniel Rugar (Chair), Ian Fisher, Michael Martin, Ania Jayich, Cyrus Hirjibehedin, Joel Ullom, Jonathan Tischler, and Laurel Winter

The membership of APS is diverse and global, and the nominees and recipients of APS Honors should reflect that diversity so that all are recognized for their impact on our community. Nominations of members belonging to groups traditionally underrepresented in physics, such as women, LGBT+ scientists, scientists who are Black, Indigenous, and people of color (BIPOC), disabled scientists, scientists from institutions with limited resources, and scientists from outside the United States, are especially encouraged.

Nominees for and holders of APS Honors (prizes, awards, and fellowship) and official leadership positions are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.

2024 Recipient

David A Muller
Cornell University

Past Recipients

2023: Joel N. Ullom
2022: Daniel Rugar
          H.J. (John) Mamin
2021: Irfan Siddiqi
2019: Zahid Hussain
2018: Andreas J. Heinrich
          Joseph A. Stroscio
          Wilson Ho
2017: Peter Denes
2016: Albert Migliori
2015: Daniel T. Pierce
          John Unguris
          Robert J. Celotta
2014: Franz J. Giessibl
2013: David McClelland
          Nergis Mavalvala
          Roman Schnabel
2012: Andreas Mandelis
2011: Ian Walmsley
2010: Eugene Ivanov
2009: Robert Schoelkopf
2008: Bjorn Wannberg
2007: Kent Irwin
2006: Frances Hellman
2005: E. Dwight Adams
2004: Virgil Bruce Elings
2003: Arthur Ashkin
2002: Robert J. Soulen
2001: James E. Faller
2000: Calvin Forrest Quate
          H. Kumar Wickramasinghe
1999: Simon Foner
1998: John Clarke