Irwin Oppenheim Award

This award recognizes outstanding contributions to physics by early career scientists who publish in Physical Review E (PRE). The annual award consists of a $5,000 stipend, a certificate, registration waiver and travel reimbursement to attend the APS March Meeting, and an invitation to speak at the conference.

About Irwin Oppenheim

This best paper award, the first APS award established by a Physical Review journal, honors the founding editor of Physical Review E, Irwin Oppenheim. Under his editorship, the journal grew significantly in both size and scope. A visionary editor, Irwin promoted new areas, including soft matter, biological physics, and complex networks. Physical Review E, with its broad coverage and interdisciplinary scope, continues to embrace Irwin's editorial philosophy, and the journal is an important part of his legacy.

A distinguished scientist, Irwin Oppenheim studied nonequilibrium phenomena and was a leader in statistical physics and kinetic theory. His illustrious career as a Professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology spanned more than five decades. Irwin is remembered for his warmth and wisdom as a mentor to many students and postdocs who later went on to become prominent in their field. Appropriately, the Irwin Oppenheim Award recognizes early career scientists.

Establishment & Support

The award was made possible by generous contributions from Irwin’s family and friends along with his students, colleagues, and members of the Physical Review E community. Thanks to the gracious support of Irwin Oppenheim's friends and family, we are pleased to announce the award stipend has increased to $5,000.

Rules & Eligibility

The award will be granted once a year to the authors of a regular article or Letter published in Physical Review E in the calendar year preceding the year of nomination (e.g. those nominated in 2023 will have published in 2022). This recognition is restricted to researchers with at most 12 years of full-time activity after their Ph.D. as of the date of publication, allowing for career breaks (e.g., due to child or dependent care, major illness, military service, etc.). Authors who are at an even earlier career stage, including in particular graduate and undergraduate students, are eligible as well. All authors of the paper must meet this eligibility criterion, and the authors' CVs must explicitly state the date that the author obtained their Ph.D., and list any career breaks. 

Nomination & Selection Process

Deadline: Monday, June 3, 2024

This is a self-nomination and should be completed by the corresponding author. To be considered for this award, please submit an online application form and include the following information:

  • Volume number, article number, and title of article
  • Total number of authors
  • Contact information for each author
  • Ph.D. award date for each author
  • CV, including publication list, for each author. Please ensure that each CV states the Ph.D. award date. When appropriate, periods of inactivity should be indicated on the CV with a brief explanation

To start a new or update a continuing nomination, please log-in to the online nomination submission site. All files must be uploaded in PDF format.

Selection Committee

A committee consisting of members nominated by relevant units of the American Physical Society and, after the first awarding, a prior recipient will select the winner based solely on the scientific merit of the paper.

2024 Selection Committee Members: Patrick Charbonneau (Chair), Cecile Cottin-Bizonne, Mark Koepke, J. M. Schwarz, Wylie Ahmed, Mauricio Gomez, Kenneth Schweizer, Simone Pigolotti, and Srikant Sastry 

The membership of APS is diverse and global, and the nominees and recipients of APS Honors should reflect that diversity so that all are recognized for their impact on our community. Nominations of members belonging to groups traditionally underrepresented in physics, such as women, LGBT+ scientists, scientists who are Black, Indigenous, and people of color (BIPOC), disabled scientists, scientists from institutions with limited resources, and scientists from outside the United States, are especially encouraged.

Nominees for and holders of APS Honors (prizes, awards, and fellowship) and official leadership positions are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.

2024 Recipients

Andrea Marcello Mambuca

Chiara Cammarota
Department of Physics, University of Rome "Sapienza"

Izaak Neri
King's College London

Past Recipients

2023: Anthony McKnight
          Corbyn Anthony Jones
          Mauricio Miguel Gomez Lopez
          Nicholas D. Brubaker
          Ryan M Muoio
          Wylie Ahmed
2022: Amir Erez
          Andrew Mugler
          Michael Vennettilli
2021: Jeremy L. England
          Sumantra Sarkar
2020: Eric DeGiuli
2019: Jordan M. Horowitz
          Todd R. Gingrich