Prize Recipient

Recipient Picture

Alan Garscadden
Air Force Research Laboratory


"In recognition of his distinguished career in gaseous electronics, marked by a sustained creativity in linking fundamental processes to the macroscopic properties of gas discharges and plasmas, and for his dedicated role as an advocate for the field of gaseous electronics."


In 1958 Dr. Garscadden received his BSc (Honors) in Physics and in 1962 his Ph.D. in Physics at Queens University, Belfast.

Dr. Garscadden is presently Chief Scientist, Propulsion Directorate, Air Force Research Laboratory, Wright-Patterson AFB, Ohio, and Edwards AFB, California; he was previously chief scientist of Wright Laboratory: prior studies as a research physicist in laboratories at WPAFB.

He received the USAF Basic Research Award in 1985 and the Air Force Meritoriuos Service Medal in 1998. His memberships and activities include being Fellow of the American Physical Society, Fellow of IEEE, Fellow of Air Force Research Lab, Fellow of AIAA, Fellow of the UK Institute of Physics, Chartered Physicist, NRC Committee on Plasma Processing 1994-96, NRC Committee on Plasma Sciences 1991-93, Chair of Gaseous Electronics Conferences (1982-83) and Chair of Gordon Conference on Plasma Chemistry (1987-1988).

Additional awards and medals to include receipt of USAF Basic Research Award in 1985 and Air Force Meritorious Service Medal in 1998. Member Editorial Board, J. of Plasma Sources Science and Technology, Approximately 140 refereed publications, multiple book chapters, Various consultations on DoD technical programs involving diverse areas such as lasers, hypersonics, combusts, optical-and mass-spectroscopy and plasma sources. Member, Boards of Visitors, Michigan State University Center for Sensor Research 1996-present; and University of Dayton Engineering Department 1997-present. Member, Board of Directors, Von Karman Institute for Fluid Dynamics, Brussels, 1998-present.

Selection Committee:

Tom Rescigno (Chair), Alan Charles Gallagher, John Waymouth, Loucas Christophorou, Ann Orel