Prize Recipient

Recipient Picture

Anatoly Larkin
University of Minnesota


"For elucidating roles of fluctuations and randomness in collective phenomena, including critical behavior of uniaxial ferroelectrics, dependence of critical exponents in four dimensions on symmetry, and how impurity pinning of vortices in superconductors destroys lattice order and controls critical currents."


Dr. Larkin received his M.S.from Moscow Engineering-Physics Insitute in 1956(under supervision of prof.Andrei Saharov)
and his Ph.D.from Kurchatov Institute of Atomic Energy in 1960(under supervision of prof. Arkady Migdal)

Professional Positions:
(1) Researcher, Kurchatov Institute of Atomic Energy,1957-1966;
(2) Head of the Department, Landau Institute of Theoretical Physics, 1966-1995;
(3) William and Bianca Fine Professor of Physics University of Minnesota 1995-present.

Significant Memberships:
Full Member of the Russian Academy of Sciences, since1991.
Corresponding Member of of the Soviet Academy of Sciences, since 1979.

London Prize in Low Temperature Physics, 1990
Hewlett-Packard Europhysics Prize, 1993
Humboldt Award, 1993
World Congress on Superconductivity Award of Excellence, 1994

Selection Committee:

Alexander Fetter (Chair), Daniel Fisher, Bertrand Halperin ('01 Rcpnt), John Reppy (Vice Chair), Mehran Kardar