Prize Recipient

Recipient Picture

Angela F. Harper
Wake Forest University


"for significant contributions to printed electronics research and outstanding leadership of the Society of Physics Students and Society of Women in STEM fields."


During her undergraduate career at Wake Forest University, Angela worked in Oana Jurchescu’s Flexible Electronics Group where she helped to develop a novel process for fabricating organic thin-film transistors (OTFT) using laser printing. This work was recently published in Advanced Materials Technologies, Laser-Printed Organic Thin-Film Transistors, and represents the first OTFT transistor developed using an electrophotographic laser printing technique. This process is both environmentally benign and cost-effective, making it a possible candidate for integration into a manufacturing process. Angela is currently completing an MPhil in Physics at Cambridge University’s Cavendish Laboratory on a Churchill Scholarship, and will attend the University of California, Berkeley to complete her Ph.D. in the Fall of 2018. Along with working with Andrew Morris, she is currently engaged in computational modeling Li-ion batteries at Cambridge, and hopes to continue this research in her Ph.D.

Selection Committee:

2017 Selection Committee Members: Samuel H. Aronson (Chair), Homer A. Neal (Vice Chair), Chuck Adler, John P. Cumalat, Eugene Demler, James Eckert, Joel Franklin, Amy R. Graves, David Miller, Stephanie Moyerman