Prize Recipient

Recipient Picture

Aparna Baskaran
Brandeis University


"For pathbreaking advances in our understanding of the physics of soft materials out of equilibrium, especially active and granular matter."


Aparna Baskaran received her undergraduate degree from Pondicherry University in 2001 and her Ph.D. from the University of Florida in 2006. She is an associate professor in the Martin A. Fisher School of Physics at Brandeis University, where she has been on the faculty since 2010. Her research centers on understanding theoretical principles that underlie nonequilibrium phenomena in soft materials and physical biology. Aparna's research involves close collaboration with experimentalists and computer simulators to understand and model particular systems, from which she extracts theoretical ideas that transcend the context of their origin and apply to broad classes of nonequilibrium systems. She is a beloved teacher and passionate exponent of her science.

Selection Committee:

2019 Selection Committee Members: Fred Mackintosh (Chair), Karen Daniels, Pedro Reis, Christian Santangelo, Jen Schwarz, Kate Stebe