Prize Recipient

Recipient Picture

Arthur Bruce McDonald
Queen's University, Canada


"For his leadership in resolving the solar neutrino problem with the Sudbury Neutrino Observatory."


Arthur McDonald holds degrees from Dalhousie University, Halifax, Canada in 1964; B.Sc. (Hon. Physics, 1964), M.Sc. (Physics, 1965), and CalTech, Pasadena, Ph. D. (Nuclear Physics,1969). From 1969 until 1981 he worked at the Chalk River Nuclear Laboratories of AECL. From 1981 to 1989 he was a Professor of Physics at Princeton University and Co-Principal Investigator of the Princeton Cyclotron. In 1989 he moved to Queen's University in Kingston, Ontario as Professor of Physics and Director of the Sudbury Neutrino Observatory (SNO) Institute. In 2002 he was awarded a University Research Chair in Physics at Queen's University.

Professor McDonald is a Fellow of the American Physical Society, Killam Research Fellow (1998-2000), Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, recipient of LL.D. (Honoris Causa) from Dalhousie University and the University College of Cape Breton, D. Sc. (Honoris Causa) from the Royal Military College. He has served on numerous Advisory Committees to U.S. and Canadian Scientific Agencies and Laboratories. He is the author of more than 110 papers in physics. Professor McDonald's research has centered on the use of the nucleus as a laboratory for the investigation of fundamental symmetries and interactions of nature. He continues an active teaching and research program in addition to the Directorship of SNO, a major international experiment that has clearly observed flavour change for solar neutrinos, thereby solving the long-standing Solar Neutrino Problem.

Professor McDonald and his wife Janet have four children and three grandchildren.

Selection Committee:

T.W. Donnelly (Chair), L.L. Riedinger (12/02), J. David Bowman (02 Rcpnt) (12/02), John Hardy (V Chair) (12/03), Susan Seestrom (12/03)