Prize Recipient

Recipient Picture

Dale J. Van Harlingen
University of Illinois


"For using phase-sensitive experiments in the elucidation of the orbital symmetry of the pairing function in high-Tc superconductors."


Dr. Van Harlingen received his BS in 1972, his MS in 1974 and his Ph.D. in 1977 from the Ohio State University. After a year as a NATO Postdoctoral Fellow in the Cavendish Laboratory at the University of Cambridge, England, he held a postdoctoral research position at the University of California at Berkeley for three years where he carried out research on non-equilibrium superconductivity and dc SQUID electronics with Professor John Clarke.. He joined the faculty at the University of Illinois in 1981 where hee is currently a Professor of Physics at the Materials Research Laboratory and the NSF Science and Technology Center for Superconductivity at the Univ. of Illinois.

Dr. Van Harlingen's research program is focused on the physics of superconductor materials and devices and on the application of microfabrication, cryogenic, and superconductor electronic techniques to problems of fundamental interest in condensed matter physics. He has made contributions in the areas of quantum noise and macroscopic quantum tunneling in Josephson junctions and SQUIDS, phase coherence in superconductor arrays, and non-equilibrium properties of superconductors. He has been instrumental in the development and application of scanning SQUID microscopy to study vortex configurations and dynamics in superconductors, and in the use of scanning tunneling microscopy to study charge transport in mesoscopic systems. His pioneering experiments to determine the symmetry of the order parameter in the cuprates, done in collaboration with David Wollman, Don Ginsberg, and Tony Leggett, have motivated intense research on the implications of unconventional paring on interfaces, vortices, and devices, and are now being applied to other potential unconventional superconductors.

Dr. Van Harlingen is a Fellow of the American Physical Society. He was awarded the University of Illinois Xerox Faculty Research Award in 1995, and has been a Fellow and Associate of the Center for Advanced Study at the University of Illinois.

Selection Committee:

John Clarke (Chair), A. Douglas Stone, Raymond E Goldstein, Herman Z Cummins, Charles Pence Slichter, ('97 Rcpnt)