Prize Recipient

Recipient Picture

David W. Chandler
Sandia National Laboratory


"For their critical contributions to the investigation of vibrationally- and rotationally-resolved molecular photodissociation and reaction dynamics, in particular for the invention and development of the photofragment ion imaging method."


Dave Chandler was born on November 12, 1953 in Albuquerque New Mexico. He received his bachelor degree from the University of New Mexico (1975) and his Ph.D. from Indiana University (1980) under the direction of Dr. George Ewing. He held a postdoctoral position at Stanford University with Dr. Richard Zare and joined Combustion Research Facility at Sandia National Laboratories in 1982. Dave became a fellow of the American Physical Society in 1998, was chairman of the Atomic and Molecular Interactions Gordon Conference in 1999 and serves on the executive committee of the Physical Chemistry Section of the American Chemical Society . Dave was promoted to Senior Scientist at Sandia in 2000. He has published over 80 papers in the area of gas phase physical chemistry. His interests include vibrational and rotational energy transfer, unimolecular dissociation dynamics and bimolecular reaction dynamics. Recent work involves the study of unimolecular and bimolecular chemistry using position sensitive ion detectors to obtain three-dimensional velocity, alignment and orientation information about reaction products.

Selection Committee:

Prof. W. E. Moerner (Chair), Joseph Dehmer, Terry A. Miller ('99 Recipient), Hanna Reisler, William Stwalley