Prize Recipient

Recipient Picture

E. Dan Dahlberg
University of Minnesota


"For his unique activities in conveying to the general public the excitement and value of physics predominantly through the development and continued leadership of the program The Physics Force."


Dr. E. Dan Dahlberg is a Professor of Physics at the University of Minnesota, is the Director and PI of the Magnetic Microscopy Center at the University, and was the primary developer and leader of the highly acclaimed University of Minnesota’s outreach program, The Physics Force. Professor Dahlberg received a BS and MA in Physics from UT Arlington in 1970 and 1972 and a PhD in Physics from UCLA in 1978. His active research program involves efforts in both noise in magnetic dots and films and spin transport in magnetic tunnel junctions. His honors include an Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Research Fellow, Fellow of American Association for the Advancement of Science, Fellow of the American Physical Society, College of Science and Engineering Distinguished Professor, University of Minnesota, Outstanding Instructor Award, University of Minnesota, George Taylor/ IT Alumni Society Award for Teaching, Distinguished Alumnus for the College of Science at UTA, University of Minnesota Outstanding Community Service Award, George Taylor Distinguished Service Award, and Elected Distinguished Lecturer for IEEE Magnetics Society for 2010.

Selection Committee:

Ivan Schuller, Chair; W. Dorland; D. Ernst; K. Bloom