Prize Recipient

Recipient Picture

Emily A. Carter
Princeton University


"For the development of rigorous, ab initio methods such as embedding techniques and orbital free density functional theory, and their application to modeling the electronic structure of large systems, including solid materials, and charge transfer phenomena between molecules and surfaces."


Emily A. Carter, Ph.D., is dean of the School of Engineering and Applied Science and the Gerhard R. Andlinger Professor in Energy and the Environment, as well as a professor of mechanical and aerospace engineering and applied and Computational Mathematics at Princeton University (N.J.). Her research focuses on developing and applying accurate, efficient quantum mechanics methods that enable the discovery and design of materials for sustainable energy. Dr. Carter received her B.S. in chemistry from the University of California, Berkeley in 1982 and her Ph.D. in chemistry from the California Institute of Technology (Pasadena) in 1987. After a year as a postdoctoral researcher at the University of Colorado, Boulder, she spent 16 years at the University of California, Los Angeles, as a professor of chemistry and later, of materials science and engineering. Dr. Carter moved to Princeton in 2004. The author of over 350 publications, she has delivered over 500 invited and plenary lectures all over the world and serves on advisory boards spanning a wide range of disciplines. Her scholarly work has been recognized with awards from a variety of entities, including the American Chemical Society, the American Vacuum Society, the American Physical Society, the Institute of Physics, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and the International Academy of Quantum Molecular Science. Dr. Carter was elected in 2008 to both the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the National Academy of Sciences, and in 2016 to the National Academy of Engineering.

Selection Committee:

2017 Selection Committee Members: Bruce Kay (Chair), Janice Reutt-Robey (Vice Chair), Anne McCoy, Gil Nathanson, Jens K. Nørskov