Prize Recipient

Recipient Picture

Federico Rosei


"For sustained leadership and service to the international physics community, in particular for developing global collaborations through projects and networks in China, Mexico and several African countries, and for exceptional mentoring efforts."


Federico Rosei directs the INRS Centre Énergie, Matériaux et Télécommunications in Québec, Canada, where is also a tenured professor. He holds the UNESCO Chair in Materials and Technologies for Energy Conversion, Saving, and Storage since 2014, and has been the institute’s senior Canada Research Chair in Nanostructured Materials since 2016. He received his materials science degree and Ph.D. from the University of Rome “La Sapienza” in 1996 and 2001, respectively.

Dr. Rosei has published over 285 articles in international journals including in Science, Nature Photonics, PNAS, Advanced Materials, Advanced Functional Materials, Advanced Energy Materials, and many others. He has been an invited speaker at more than 300 international conferences, has given over 230 seminars and colloquia, nearly 60 professional development lectures, and 40 public lectures in 45 countries on all inhabited continents. His publications have been cited over 10,600 times, and his H index is 53.

He is fellow of numerous prestigious national and international societies and academies, including the Royal Society of Canada, the European Academy of Science, the African Academy of Science, the American Physical Society, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the Optical Society of America, SPIE, and the Canadian Academy of Engineering. He is an honorary fellow of the Chinese Chemical Society, and a foreign member of the Mexican Academy of Engineering.
He has received several awards and honors, including the 2011 von Humboldt Foundation Bessel Award, the 2011 Royal Society of Canada Rutherford Medal, the 2013 Canadian Association of Physics Herzberg Medal, a Canadian Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council fellowship in 2014, the 2014 World Cultural Council José Vasconcelos Award for Education, a 2015 Chinese Chang Jiang Scholar Award, the 2015 Iranian Khwarizmi International Award, the 2016 Australian Academy of Sciences Selby Fellowship, the 2017 Chinese Academy of Science President’s Visiting Fellowship for Distinguished Scientists, and the American Physical Society’s 2019 John Wheatley Award.

Selection Committee:

2019 Selection Committee Members: Jerry Peterson (CHair), Luisa Cifarelli, Shelly Lesher, Joe Niemela, Neil Turok ('17 Recipient)