Prize Recipient

George Feher
University of California, San Diego


"For his many contributions to the understanding of the physics of photosynthesis; specifically, for his role in the pioneering of the concept of reaction enters in photosynthetic bacteria, their isolation, their spectroscopy and their structural characterization."

Selection Committee:

R.S. Knox, Chair, B. Chance, A.L. Lehninger, P. Mueller, E.M. Purcell