Prize Recipient

Gregory Breit


"For his early work on proton-induced nuclear reactions which contributed to the pioneering Breit-Wigner theory of nuclear resonances; for his early and continuing work on nucleon-nucleon scattering which led to the recognition of charge independence of nuclear forces; and for his many other theoretical contributions arising from his intimate association with experiments in many facets of physics"