Prize Recipient

Harmut Michel


"For their pioneering structural determination at atomic resolution of the complete membranebound photosynthetic bacterial reaction center of Rhodopseudomonas viridis. Their astounding discovery that functional assemblage of membrane proteins can be crystallized opens up an entire new area of structural biophysics."

Selection Committee:

E.J. Bearden, Chair, P. Eisenberger, H.C. Berg, C.P. Bean, L. Stryer