Prize Recipient

Recipient Picture

Hartmut Zohm
Max Planck Institute fur Plasmaphsik


"For the theoretical prediction and experimental demonstration of neoclassical tearing mode stabilization by localized electron cyclotron current drive."


Prof. Hartmut Zohm’s main fields of interest are the magnetohydrodynamic (MHD) stability of fusion plasmas and their heating by Electron Cyclotron Resonance Heating (ECRH). By combining these two fields, he pioneered the active stabilisation of neoclassical magnetic islands, which set a major performance limit to the tokamak, by ECRH. His present field is the study of tokamak physics on the ASDEX Upgrade tokamak which is operated by his department. Most recently, he became involved in the European studies for a demonstration fusion power plant (DEMO).

Prof. Zohm is member of several committees such as the ITPA coordinating committee, the IEA Implementing Agreement on Collaboration of Tokamak Programmes, the Programme Advisory Committees of KSTAR (Deajon, Korea), the EU Fusion STAC as well as chair of the scientific advisory board of IPP.CR (Prague, Czech Republic) and the External Advisory Board of the EPSRC Centre for Doctoral Training in the Science and Technology of Fusion Energy in the UK. He is also a member of the board of editors of the ‘Nuclear Fusion’ journal and a member of the advisory board of the ‘Annalen der Physik’ journal.

Selection Committee:

Denise Hinkel, Chair; Adil Hassam; Mark Hermann; Phil Snyder; Paul Terry