Prize Recipient

Recipient Picture

Igal Talmi
Weizmann Institute of Science


"For pioneering work on the shell model of the nucleus that laid the foundation of much of what we know about nuclear structure"


Dr. Igal Talmi received his M.Sc from Hebrew University in Jerusalem, Israel in 1947. He subsequently served in the military for two years after which he attended the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH) in Zürich, Switzerland from 1949 to 1951 where he received his Dr. Sc. Nat. in 1952. From 1952 to 1954 he was a visiting Fellow at Princeton University, Princeton, NJ. In 1954 he joined the faculty at Weizmann Institute of Science where he has been associated ever since. He became a Professor of Physics in 1958, was Head of the Department of Nuclear Physics from 1967 to 1976, Dean of Physics from 1972 to 1984 and became Professor Emeritus in 1995.

He received the Weizmann Prize in 1962, the Israel Prize in 1965 and the Rothschild Prize in 1971. Dr. Talmi is a Fellow of the American Physical Society and a member of the Israel, Italian and European Physical Societies. He has been a member of the Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities since 1963 and was Chair of the Division of Sciences from 1975 to 1980.

Selection Committee:

John D Walecka (Chair), Wick C Haxton Edwin E Salpeter (1999 Recipient), Robert V Wagoner (Vice Chair), Akif Baha Balantekin