Prize Recipient

Recipient Picture

Irfan Siddiqi
University of California, Berkeley


"For fundamental advances in superconducting parametric amplifiers, including the development of the Josephson traveling wave parametric amplifier, and for their application to quantum measurement and control."


Irfan Siddiqi is a Professor of Physics at the University of California, Berkeley, and a faculty scientist at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (LBNL). He is the director of the Quantum Systems Accelerator (, a US Department of Energy funded national research center, and the Advanced Quantum Testbed at LBNL ( that focuses on state-of-the-art superconducting quantum computing technologies. Siddiqi’s research has focused on high-fidelity readout of superconducting quantum bits, quantum simulation & computation, quantum feedback, quantum trajectories, squeezing and measurement limits, and near-quantum-limited microwave frequency amplification. He is a fellow of the American Physical Society (APS) and a recipient of its George E. Valley prize (2006). He received the UC Berkeley Distinguished Teaching Award in 2016--the institution’s most prestigious honor for teaching and continued commitment to pedagogy. Siddiqi received his A.B. in Chemistry & Physics from Harvard University in 1997, and a Ph.D. in Applied Physics from Yale University in 2002.

Selection Committee:

Charles Agosta (Chair), Zahid Hussain ('19 Keithley Recipient), Fedor Balakirev, Chris Jacobsen, Zahir Islam