Prize Recipient

J. Reginald Richardson


"For his original contributions to the development of cyclotrons. These include the first experimental demonstration of phase stability, the first synchrocyclotron, and the first sector-focused cyclotron. The work is the basis of the numerous cyclotrons that have had and continue to have major impact on nuclear physics, solid state physics, chemistry, and medicine."

Selection Committee:

R.H. Siemann, Chair; J.M. Paterson; D. Keefe; A.V. Tollsestrup; E. Knapp