Prize Recipient

J.P. Remeika


"For the synthesis of single crystals important in opening new areas of condensed matter physics.  His intuitive understanding of crystal chemistry and imaginative use of the flux techniques have led to the growth of ferroelectric titanates and niobates, magnetic garnets and orthoferrites and a wide variety of other crystals which have been studied in laboratories throughout the world."