Prize Recipient

Recipient Picture

James Chelikowsky
University of Texas


"For his creative and outstanding research in computational materials physics and for his effectiveness in communicating research results through lectures and publications."


Jim Chelikowsky holds the W.A. "Tex" Moncrief Jr. Chair in Computational Materials within the Institute for Computational Engineering and Sciences at the University of Texas at Austin where he is professor in the Departments of Physics, Chemical Engineering, and Chemistry and Biochemistry.

He received his B.S. in physics from Kansas State in 1970, and his Ph.D. in condensed matter physics from the University of California at Berkeley in 1975. He worked at Bell Labs as a postdoctoral fellow, at the University of Oregon as an assistant professor and at Exxon Corporate Research Science Labs as a group leader in theoretical physics and chemistry. In 1987, he joined the faculty at the University of Minnesota, where he was named an Institute of Technology Distinguished Professor in 2001. He left Minnesota for his position at Texas in January 2005.

He was named a Fellow of the American Physical Society in 1987. In 1995, he was awarded a John Simon Guggenheim Fellowship. He was also the Neal Amundson Professor of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science at Minnesota that year, and a Miller Institute Professor at the University of California at Berkeley in 1999. In 2001, he received the David Turnbull Lectureship Award from the Materials Research Society

Selection Committee:

Maria C. Tamargo (Chair) Steven Louie (12/05), Ramamoorthy Ramesh ('05 winner)(12/05), Eric Fullerton (v. chair)(12/06), Robert Averback (12/06)