Prize Recipient

Recipient Picture

James Johnson
Los Alamos National Laboratory


"In recognition of his outstanding contributions to the understanding of crystal anisotropy effects, phase transformations, tensile fracture, and chemical reactions in shock compressed condensed matter."


James received a B.S. degree in mathematics and physics from the University of Puget Sound, Tacoma, Washington, in 1961, and a Ph.D. in physics from Washington State University  in 1966. James then spent a year in post-doctoral study with Prof. George E. Duvall at WSU. He became a member of the technical staff at Sandia Laboratories in 1967 and then joined the research staff at Terra Tek, Inc. in 1973. He remained there until 1976 when he became a staff member in the Theoretical Division at Los Alamos Scientific Laboratory. James spent a sabbatical year (1985-86) at the Cavendish Laboratory, Cambridge University, UK. He retired from Los Alamos in 1999, but remained active in shock-wave research through continued affiliations with Los Alamos National Laboratory and the Institute for Shock Physics at WSU. Research interests include rate-dependent plastic deformation, fracture, solid explosive initiation, and shock-induced phase transformations. Awards include: Mathematics Award and Mu Sigma Delta election (UPS, 1960 and 1961), Los Alamos Distinguished Performance Award (with Charles Forest and Pier Tang, 1986), Fellow, American Physical Society (1996), and Phi Beta Kappa election (Alumnus Member, UPS, 2001).

Selection Committee:

Suhithi M. Peiris, Chair; G. Collins; D.R. Curran; T.D. Sewell; J. Walk