Prize Recipient

Recipient Picture

Jian Qin
Stanford University


"For the advancement of analytical and computational tools in the thermodynamics and morphology of ionic or ion-containing polymeric materials."


Jian Qin is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Chemical Engineering at Stanford University. He received B.S. and M.S. degrees in Materials Science from Tsinghua University, and his Ph.D. from University of Minnesota under the supervision of Profs. David Morse and Frank Bates. Following postdoctoral fellowships at Pennsylvania State University, with Prof. Scott Milner, and The University of Chicago, with Prof. Juan de Pablo, he joined Stanford University as a Terman Faculty Fellow in 2016. His research focuses on theoretical study of morphological and rheological behavior of polymeric fluids, electrostatic interactions in structured electrolytes, and surface charge polarization. He has held the Kadanoff-Rice Fellowship and has been recognized by the 3M Non-Tenured Faculty Award, the Hellman Faculty Award, the NSF CAREER Award, the ACS PMSE Arthur Doolittle Award, the ACS PMSE Young Investigator Award, and the Tau Beta Pi (Stanford) Teaching Honor Roll. He is a member of APS, ACS, and AIChE.

Selection Committee:

Ramanan Krishnamoorti, University of Houston; Mahesh Mahanthappa, University of Minnesota; Amalie L. Frischknecht, Sandia National Labs; Ryan Hayward, Univ of Colorado, Boulder; Karen Winey, Univ of Pennsylvania; Rob Riggleman, Univ of Pennsylvania; Zahra Fakhraai, University of Pennsylvania; Thomas Epps, University of Delaware; Vivek Prabhu, NIST