Prize Recipient

John M. Greene


"For outstanding contributions to the theory of magnetohydrodynamic equilibria and ideal and resistive instabilities, for discovery of the inverse scattering trans-form leading to soliton solutions of many nonlinear partial differential equations, and for invention of the residue methods of determining the transition to global chaos"