Prize Recipient

Recipient Picture

Julia Mundy
Harvard University


"For the pico-engineering and synthesis of the first room-temperature magnetoelectric multi-ferroic material."


Julia A. Mundy is an assistant professor of physics at Harvard University.  Her group’s research uses advanced thin film deposition and electron microscopy to design, synthesize and characterize complex materials with sub-Angstrom resolution. Professor Mundy earned her bachelor’s degree in chemistry and physics from Harvard, and her doctorate in applied physics from Cornell University, where she worked with professors Darrell Schlom and David Muller. Professor Mundy completed her postdoctoral research as a University of California, Berkeley President’s Postdoctoral Fellow in the group of Professor R. Ramesh.  She was recently awarded the Oxide Electronics Prize for Excellency in Research for her work designing the first strong room-temperature multiferroic material, and has been named a Moore Fellow in Materials Synthesis. Professor Mundy also has a strong interest in science education; during 2014-2015, she served as the inaugural American Physical Society/American Institute of Physics STEM Education Fellow at the U.S. Department of Education.

Selection Committee:

2019 Selection Committee Members: David Gross (Chair), Samuel Bader, Baha Balantekin, Charles Bennett, Beverly Berger, William Bialek, Nicholas Bigelow, Robert Continetti, Bonnie Fleming, Cary Forest, Timothy Gay, Giulia Gali, Ann Karagozian, John Marston, Cole Miller, Murugappan Muthukumar, Thomas Roser, Elizabeth Simmons