Prize Recipient

Kennedy Reed
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory


"For multifaceted contributions to the promotion of physics research and education in Africa, for developing agreements for exchange of faculty and students between American and African institutions, for organizing and conducting international workshops and conferences on physics in Africa, and for advocating increased American and international involvement with physics in Africa."


Kennedy Reed earned a B.S. at Monmouth College in Illinois, and a Ph.D. in physics at University of Nebraska. He is a theoretical physicist at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, working in research on atomic collisions in high temperature plasmas. He has over 100 publications, and has contributed to the understanding of indirect processes in electron-impact excitation and ionization of highly charged ions. He is also director of the LLNL Research Collaborations Program for HBCUs & MIs, which is within the Laboratory's University Relations Program.

Dr. Reed is a Fellow of the American Physical Society; Charter Fellow, National Society of Black Physicists (NSBP); member, Optical Society of America; and member, American Association for the Advancement of Science.

He has been a visiting scientist at the Hahn Meitner Institute in Germany; at University College London in England; at University of Dakar in Senegal; and at University of Cape Coast in Ghana. He has been active in programs of the International Center for Theoretical Physics in Trieste, Italy; has served as Vice Chair of the APS Committee on International Scientific Affairs; and was elected to the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics : Commission on Physics for Development.

A leader in national efforts to increase minority participation in physics, Dr. Reed has been President of NSBP; Chair, APS Bouchet Prize Committee; member, APS Committee on Minorities in Physics; a co-founder of the National Physical Science Consortium Graduate Fellowship Program; and a Physics Professor at Morehouse College.

Selection Committee:

David J Lockwood (Chair), Dongqi Li (12/02), Henry R. Glyde ('01 rcpnt) (12/02), David Ernst (Vice Chair) (12/04), Carmen Cisneros (12/04)