Prize Recipient

Kjell Johnsen


"For his seminal contributions to the physics, design, construction and performance of the CERN proton Intersecting Storage Rings (ISR). This highly successful and first high energy hadron collider broke the ground for even larger machines of this type which are now in operation or in the planning state, opening new frontiers in particle physics."

Selection Committee:

G. Loew, Chair; D.W. Kerst; B. Siemann; D. Keefe; R. Palmer