Prize Recipient

Recipient Picture

Lawrence Maxwell Krauss
Case Western Reserve University


"For major contributions in defending science in the schools through his efforts in combating the opponents of teaching evolution, and for continuing to enhance the public understanding of contemporary physics."


Prof. Lawrence M. Krauss is Ambrose Swasey Professor of Physics, Professor of Astronomy, and Chair of the Physics Department at Case Western Reserve University. He received his B.Sc (Hons) in Mathematics and Physics from Carleton University in 1977. He received his Ph.D. in Physics from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1982 then joined the Harvard Society of Fellows. In 1985 he joined the faculties of Physics and Astronomy at Yale University, and moved to take his current appointment in 1993. He is a Fellow of the American Physical Society and of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Krauss is the author of over 200 scientific publications, as well as numerous popular articles on physics and astronomy. In addition, he is the author of seven popular books, including the national bestseller, The Physics of Star Trek. Atom: An Odyssey from the Big Bang to Life on Earth and Beyond, and his upcoming book, Hiding in the Mirror: The Mysterious Allure of Extra Dimensions. He has lectured to popular audiences at such places as the Smithsonian Air and Space Museum, the National Museum of Natural History, and the Museum of Natural History in New York, as well as serving on the boards of three different science and natural history museums, and appears frequently on radio and television around the world, including his role as a commentator for NPR. Prof. Krauss is the recipient of numerous awards for his research, writing, lecturing and efforts at public education. These include the Gravity Research Foundation First Prize Award (1984), the Presidential Investigator Award (1986), the AAAS 2000 Award for the Public Understanding of Science and Technology, the 2001 APS Julius Edgar Lilienfeld Prize, the 2001 AIP Andrew Gemant Award, the 2002 AIP Science Writing Award, and the 2003 AAPT Oersted Medal. In 2003 he was awarded an honorary D.Sc. degree from Carleton University.

Selection Committee:

Ken Heller (Chair), John Layman (12/04), Marc Ross (12/04), Michael Sanders (12/05)