Prize Recipient

Recipient Picture

Lee C. Teng
Argonne National Laboratory


"For invention of resonant extraction and transition crossing techniques critical to hadron synchrotrons and storage rings, for early and continued development of linear matrix theory of particle beams, and for leadership in the realization of a facility for radiation therapy with protons."


Academic Degrees
B.S. Fu Jen University (Beijing) 1946
Ph.D. University of Chicago 1951

Significant Employment History
University of Minnesota, Assistant Professor 1951 - 1953        Wichita State University, Associate Professor 1953 - 1955         Argonne National Laboratory, Director Particle Accelerator Division 1955 - 1967
Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory, Associate Head Accelerator Division 1967 - 1989
Synchrotron Radiation Research Center (Taiwan), Director 1983 - 1985
Argonne National Laboratory, Head Accelerator Physics Advanced Photon Source 1989 - 1997

Significant and especially current scientific endeavors
Beam Dynamics Research
Accelerator Project Management

Significant awards and honors, including professional memberships
Fellow of American Physical Society
Member of Academia Sinica (Taiwan)

Selection Committee:

David Burke (Chair), David McGinnis (12/06), Keith R. Symon (2005 recipient)(12/06), Steve Peggs (V. Chair)(12/07), Jamie Rosenzweig (12/07)