Prize Recipient

Lisbeth D. Gronlund
Union of Concerned Scientists


"For creative and sustained leadership in building an international arms-control-physics community and for their own excellence in arms-control physics."


Lisbeth Gronlund received her B.A. in physics from the College of CreativeStudies at UC-Santa Barbara (1982) and her Ph.D. in theoretical physics from Cornell University (1989). During her graduate years, she became engaged in the national debate over nuclear arms control and SDI, and decided to pursue a career in the field of arms control and security. From 1988-90, she was a postdoctoral fellow at the MIT Defense and Arms Control Studies Program. She was then awarded an SSRC-MacArthur Foundation Fellowship in International Peace and Security, and spent 1990-92 at the University of Maryland Center for International Security Studies. Since 1992, she has been a Senior Staff Scientist at the Union of Concerned Scientists and a Research Fellow in the MIT Security Studies Program.

She has published numerous articles on international security issues. Her recent research has focused on the vulnerability of ballistic missile defenses to countermeasures, and the potential security costs of deployment of a US national missile defense.

Along with George Lewis and David Wright, she helped establish and is a primary organizer of the International Summer Symposiums on Science and World Affairs, which each year since 1989 have brought together some 40 young scientists working on international security issues from different countries. These meetings are designed to help foster a new--and in some countries, a first--generation of scientists with expertise in arms control and security issues and to create an international community of technical researchers working on these issues.

She currently serves on the Panel on Public Affairs of the American Physical Society; on the board of directors of the Educational Foundation for Nuclear Science, which publishes the Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists; and as an associate editor of Science and Global Security.

Selection Committee:

Anthony V Nero (Chair), David W Hafemeister, Jeremiah Sullivan ('00 Rcpnt), Robert J. Lempert (Vice Chair), Mark W. Goodman