Prize Recipient

Recipient Picture

Matthew Sands
University of California, Santa Cruz


"For his many contributions to accelerator physics and the development of electron-positron and proton colliders and for his importance as teacher and role model for many generations of scientists."


Dr. Sands received his BA from Clark University in 1940 and his MA from Rice. He then worked at the Naval Ordnance and Los Alamos Laboratories where he co-authored a book on pulse electronics. He received a Ph.D. from MIT in 1948 for work on cosmic rays, and then joined the MIT faculty. In 1950 he moved to CalTech where he helped build and used a 1.5 Gev electron synchrotron. He was the first to show (theoretically and then experimentally) the importance of quantum effects in electron accelerators; he proposed a high energy proton synchtrotron (300 Gev), using injection from a booster; co-authored the Feynman Lectures on Physics. In 1963 he became Deputy Director for the construction and early operation of SLAC; worked on the design of SPEAR; and wrote a monograph on electron storage rings. From 1969 until 1985 he taught at University of California, Santa Cruz, where he is now Professor Emeritus. During 1968 - 1994 he studied beam instabilities, wake fields, beam-cavity interactions, linear colliders, etc. at Frascati, DESY, Orsay, and SLAC.

Dr. Sands is an APS Fellow, founding member of FAS, and a member of both the AAPT and the AAAS. He was a member of the Commission on College Physics (1960-66); consultant to PSAC, DOD and ACDA on weapons and disarmament (1961-67). He received a Fulbright Scholarship in 1952, a Distinguished Service Award from the AAPT (1972) and the 1990 Prize of the US Particle Accelerator School.

Selection Committee:

Claudio Pellegrini (Chair), Ilan Ben-Zvi, Helen Thom Edwards, Hermann A Grunder (Vice Chair), Albert J. Hofmann ('96 Rcpnt)