Prize Recipient

Recipient Picture

Nima Arkani-Hamed
Institute for Advanced Study


"For the development of transformative new frameworks for physics beyond the standard model with novel experimental signatures, including work on large extra dimensions, the Little Higgs, and more generally for new ideas connected to the origin of the electroweak scale."


Nima Arkani-Hamed is a theorist with wide interests in fundamental physics, from particle physics and cosmology to quantum field theory, string theory and collider physics. He was educated at Toronto, Berkeley and SLAC, and was a professor at Berkeley and Harvard before joining the Institute for Advanced Study in 2008.

Selection Committee:

Bogdan Dobrescu (Fermilab), Shufang Su (Arizona), Vernon Barger (Wisconsin), Lance Dixon (SLAC-vice chair), and Neal Weiner (NYU-chair).