Prize Recipient

Recipient Picture

Noah Hershkowitz
University of Wisconsin


"For fundamental contributions to the physics of low temperature plasmas, including radio frequency wave heating, sheath physics, potential profiles, diagnostic probes, and the industrial applications of plasmas."


Noah Hershkowitz is the Irving Langmuir Professor of Engineering Physics at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. He obtained his B.S. in Physics (Union College, 1962) and his Ph.D. in Physics (Johns Hopkins University, 1966. He was a Professor of Physics at the University of Iowa (1967-81), and a Visiting Professor at UCLA (1974-75) and UC-Boulder (1980-81), before taking up his present position in 1981. He has directed 46 Ph.D. students. He has authored or co-authored more than 225 journal articles and is recognized as a world expert in experimental measurements of solitons, plasma sheaths, double layers, magnetic cusps, Langmuir probes, emissive probes, ICRF heating and ponderomotive stabilization of MHD instabilities in mirror-confined plasma, ICRF current drive in tokamaks, plasma etching and deposition, and basic plasma physics.

Professor Hershkowitz was Chair of the APS-DPP (1990), Chair of the IEEE PSAC Committee (1997-99), and President of the Univ. Fus. Assoc. (1985). He is a Fellow of the APS (1981), IEEE (1989), and AVS (1999). He received the IEEE NPSS Merit Award (1987), the IEEE PSAC Award (1993), and the Byron Bird Award for Excellence in a Research Publication (UW Madison) (1994). He is founder and Editor-in-Chief of Plasma Sources Sci. & Tech. (1991 to present). He was an Assoc. Ed. of Phys. Fluids (1981-1983) and Phys. Rev. Lett. (1987-1990).

Selection Committee:

William Walter Heidbrink (Chair), Dan Dubin (12/04), Eugene Parker (03 Rcpnt), Barbara Lasinski (vice chair)(12/05), Ronald Gilgenbach