Prize Recipient

Recipient Picture

Philip W. Phillips
University of Illinois - Urbana - Champaign


"For opening new vistas in the study of disordered and strongly correlated condensed matter physics, including the random dimer model and the size dependence of the Kondo effect."


Professor Phillips received his bachelor's degree in chemistry and mathematics from Walla Walla College in 1979 and his Ph.D. in physical chemistry from the University of Washington in 1982. After a positions as a Miller Fellow at Berkeley, he was a faculty member of the Department of Chemistry at Massachusetts Institute of Technology (1984-1993). Professor Phillips came to the University of Illinois Department of Physics in 1993.

Professor Phillips is a theoretical condensed matter physicist who has made several notable contributions on transport in low-dimensional materials. He has made seminal contributions in three distinct areas of condensed matter theory: pair tunneling in semiconductor quantum dots, the disordered Kondo problem, and the application of superconductivity in a two-dimensional electron gas to a silicon MOSFET.

Selection Committee:

Carlos Handy (Chair), Warren Buck, Alfred Msezane ('99 Recipient), William Spicer (Vice Chair), David Ernst