Prize Recipient

Recipient Picture

Robert W. Boyd
University of Ottawa


"For fundamental contributions to the field of nonlinear optics, including the development of approaches for controlling the velocity of light, of quantum imaging methods, and of composite nonlinear optical materials."


Robert W. Boyd received the B.S. degree in physics in 1969 from Massachusetts Institute of Physics (MIT) and his Ph.D. in physics in 1977 from the University of California, Berkeley. He joined the faculty of the University of Rochester in 1977, and in 2001 became the M. Parker Givens Professor of Optics and Professor of Physics. In 2010, he became Professor of Physics and Canada Excellence Research Chair at the University of Ottawa. His research interests include studies of “slow” and “fast” light, orbital angular momentum of light, quantum communication, quantum imaging, nonlinear optical interactions and materials, and nanofabrication of photonic devices. He has written two books, co-edited two anthologies, published over 400 research papers (≈29,000 citations, Google h-index 71), and been awarded nine patents. He is the 2009 recipient of the Willis E. Lamb Award for Laser Science and Quantum Optics, the 2010 recipient of a Humboldt Research Prize, and the 2014 recipient of the Quantum Electronics Award of the IEEE Photonics Society.

Selection Committee:

Leo Hollberg (Chair), Jie Shan, Mordechai Segev, Tim Zwier, Jennifer Ogilvie