Prize Recipient

Physics Teaching Resource Agents


"For providing peer-led professional development for 25 years to more than 5000 physics and physical science teachers nationwide through a network of more than 500 master teachers."


George Amann

George Amann graduated Summa Cum Laude with a BA in Physics Education from Long Island University in 1972 where he was the Recipient of the Parents and Friends Award as class salutatorian, andan MS in Education from Hofstra University in 1975. He taught all levels of high school physics from 1972-2002, and worked as an adjunct physics instructor for 19 years at Dutchess Community College in Poughkeepsie, NY until his retirement in 2002. For the past 5 years George has also worked as an academic consultant to the physics first based

Active Physics revision project. He is a past president and secretary for the New York Section of AAPT, has served as member of several national AAPT area committees, and was the physics director for the New York State Science Teachers association from 1994  2000.

George has worked with the PTRA program since 1992, and has served as co-director for the Northeast since 2002. In addition he has authored three instructional manuals for PTRA program, including the "Make and Take " manual, "Exploring Physics in the Classroom" and "Gravity and Motion in 2D" as well as numerous articles for AAPT's magazine, The Physics Teacher.

George was a recipient of AAPT's 2005 Distinguished Service Award. He also was the recipient of the 1991 Tandy Technology Award and was a state finalist for the Presidential Award for Excellence in Science Teaching for New York in 1993 and 1996.

Lawrence Badar

Robert Clark

Robert Beck Clark received his B.A. and PhD. Degrees from Yale University in 1963 and 1968. He served on the faculty and as a member of the Center for Particle Theory of the University of Texas at Austin from 1968 until 1973, when he joined the faculty of Texas A&M University. There he served as Regents Professor in the Department of Physics and Associate Dean in the College of Science. In 2000 he joined the faculty of Brigham Young University. From 1969 until 2009 he designed and directed a number of physics teacher and physics faculty enhancement programs which were supported by the NSF. He is a Fellow of the APS and the recipient of the Oersted Medal and the Melba Newell Phillips Award. He served as President of the AAPT, as a member of the AIP Governing Board and on the Executive Board of the Council of Scientific Society Presidents.

Jan Mader

Karen Jo Matsler

Karen Jo Matsler received her undergraduate and Masters degrees from Texas Tech University in 1977 and holds a doctorate in Curriculum and Instruction.

She has taught for over 30 years, served as K-12 science coordinator, and currently is a professor at Dallas Baptist University while being an independent program evaluator and curriculum consultant. As Co-Principal investigator for the AAPT/PTRA project, Karen Jo was responsible for gathering data to document the impact of PTRA on over 1,000 teachers and 500,000 students This work led to the establishment of an evaluation and professional development center, Education Assessment and Training, Inc.

Karen Jo's passion for physics education is evident in her active involvement in curriculum projects such as C3P, C.A.S.T.L.E, C4, and the Inquiry Institute in addition to serving on committees and executive boards for over 10 professional organizations. Karen Jo has served on the American Institute of Physics Advisory Committee on Physics Education, as president for the Texas Science Education Leadership Association and the Texas Section of AAPT, as well as secretary of the Science Teacher Association of Texas.

Selection Committee:

Paula R.L. Herron, Chair; J. Radzilowicz; D. Sokoloff; C. Crouch; R. Steiner