Prize Recipient

Robert Keith Kirkwood


"For his development of a new technique for determining the momentum distribution of current carriers in tokamak plasma experiments. The experimental plasma current and the velocity dependence were shown to be in agreement with the theoretical models."

Selection Committee:

C.K. Birdsall (Chair), R.H. Gross, H. L. Berk, R.W. Falcone, S. Prager