Prize Recipient

Robert M. Pearlstein
Purdue University


"For pioneering contributions in the application of theoretical physics to understanding the first steps of conversion of electromagnetic energy into chemical energy in photosynthesis; in particular, for elucidating the creation and motion of photosynthesis excitons."

Selection Committee:

H. Frauenfelder, Chair, W. Webb, G. Feher, E. Greenbaum, P.G. Debrunner, S. Krimm