Prize Recipient

Recipient Picture

Stanley Brodsky
Stanford Linear Accelerator Center


"For applications of perturbative quantum field theory to critical questions of elementary particle physics, in particular, to the analysis of hard exclusive strong interaction processes."


Stan Brodsky received his Bachelor of Physics degree in 1961 as well as his Ph.D. in 1964 from the University of Minnesota. His Ph.D. advisor was Professor Donald Yennie, one of the leading theorists in precision atomic physics and quantum electrodynamics. He was a research associate in theoretical physics with Professor T.D. Lee at Columbia University in 1964-1966. In 1966 he joined the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center of Stanford University as a research associate in Professor Sidney Drell's theoretical physics group. Brodsky became a permanent staff member in 1968 and a Professor at SLAC in 1976. He was head of the SLAC theory group from
1996 to 2002.

In 1987, Brodsky was awarded the Senior United States Distinguished Scientist Award from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation. In 2003 he was appointed the first Distinguished Fellow at the Thomas Jefferson Laboratory. He is a Fellow of the American Physical Society and co-founder of the International Light-Cone Advisory Committee.

Brodsky's research areas span many areas of high-energy and nuclear theoretical physics, as well as precision tests of quantum
electrodynamics in atomic physics. In 1979, Brodsky and G. P.
Lepage developed factorization theorems for hard exclusive processes in quantum chromodynamics, including evolution equations for meson and baryon distribution amplitudes, thus providing a rigorous basis for the dimensional counting rules proposed earlier by Brodsky and G. Farrar. In 1985 Brodsky and H. C. Pauli developed the nonperturbative discretized light-cone quantization (DLCQ) method for solving quantum field theories. Brodsky and his collaborators have also developed the theory underlying novel QCD properties such as color transparency, hidden color, reduced nuclear amplitudes, and
intrinsic charm; theoretical tools such as light-front wavefunctions, commensurate scale relations, renormalization scale-setting, and jet measures; and applications of QCD to deeply virtual Compton scattering, diffractive deep inelastic scattering and other hard diffractive phenomena, shadowing and antishadowing of
nuclear reactions, high energy photon-photon collisions, leading-twist single-spin asymmetries, and higher twist reactions.
More recently he has been collaborating with G. de Teramond on the insights into the QCD spectra and hadron light-front wavefunctions which can be obtained from the AdS/CFT correspondence.

Selection Committee:

Howard "Howie" Haber (Chair), Tom Appelquist, Susumu Okubo ('05 recipient), Joe Polchinski, Mirjam Cvetic