Prize Recipient

Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar


"For application of the elegant and rigorous techniques of mathematical physics to problems of stellar structure, radiative transfer, hydromagnetic stability, the post-Newtonian approximation in general relativity, and the stability off rotating, gravitating bodies, thus continuing and bringing up to date the tradition established by such mathematical physicists as Poincare and Lord Rayleigh."