Prize Recipient

Recipient Picture

Ubirajara van Kolck
University of Arizona


"For pioneering contributions to effective field theories of nuclear systems, which have transformed low-energy nuclear theory."


Ubirajara (Bira) van Kolck is Directeur de Recherche at France’s Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique and Professor of Physics at the University of Arizona. He received an undergraduate degree in physics from the University of Sao Paulo in 1984, a Master's degree from the Instituto de Fisica Teorica in 1987, and a Ph.D. in 1993 from the University of Texas at Austin under the supervision of S. Weinberg. He subsequently held postdoctoral and research-faculty appointments at the University of Washington and Caltech. He has been a Riken-BNL Research Center Fellow, a US Department of Energy Outstanding Junior Investigator, and an Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellow. He has served as chair of the APS Group on Few-Body Physics and as member of various advisory boards, for example at the Institute for Nuclear Theory in Seattle and at the European Centre for Theoretical Studies in Nuclear Physics and Related Areas in Trento. He was elected Fellow of the American Physical Society in 2004 and received the Prix Paul Langevin of the Societe Francaise de Physique in 2015. His interests center on effective field theories for nuclear and atomic systems, and on the emergence of nuclear structure from the Standard Model and its extensions.

Selection Committee:

2020 Selection Committee Members: Martin J. Savage (Chair), Gail McLaughlin (Vice-Chair), Barry R. Holstein ('19 Recipient), Filomena Nunes, Janet Seger