Prize Recipient

Recipient Picture

Vasily Parkhomchuk
Budker Institute of Nuclear Physics


"For crucial contributions in the proof of principle of electron cooling, for leading contribution to the experimental and theoretical development of electron cooling, and for achievement of the planned parameters of coolers for facilities in laboratories around the world."


Vasily Parkhomchuk was educated at Novosibirsk State University from 1964 to 1968, and started work at the Institute of Nuclear Physics as a postgraduate student. He was elected to the Russian Science Academy as a correspondent member at the Nuclear Division. He is currently chief of the electron cooling laboratory at Budker Institute of Nuclear Physics (BINP). Parkhomchuk research has involved the development of the electron cooling technique and the Cooling Storage Ring (CSR) project at the Institute of Modern Physics (IMP). Parkhomchuk received the State Premium of Russian Federation in 2002 and the People's Republic of China Friendship Award in 2004.

Selection Committee:

Maury Tigner (Chair), Lee Teng, Hasan Padamsee, Mark Palmer, Tor Raubenheimer